How To Make An Outfit Look+Feel Complete

Okay, I know what you’re thinking: That I should have called this post “Accessories,” but that’s not always the case. Beauty can complete an outfit, too. A white t-shirt tucked into dark skinny jeans simply doesn’t feel complete. But when you add an old Hollywood red lip, topped off with red Mary-Jane heels, a red bag, and a red skinny belt, suddenly you have a runway-ready outfit. For dressing up: add a long stand of rubies or circular red stones. You could also swap to t-shirt with a white oxford.

Get the Look

Don’t misunderstand: The key to fashion success isn’t to have a book of flawlessly accessorized outfits. The key is have about ten go-to pieces, and then a bunch of other items that you could use to make those go-to items special. Put on those skinny jeans, and let the accessories you chose channel the look you’re going for.

Little Additions 

The other day I put on my go-to orange shirt with peach dots on it. While it looked fine with skinny jeans and shearling boots, that just wasn’t enough. So I tucked my shirt in, added a gold, sparkly belt from J Crew, and suddenly my outfit felt so much more complete. Sometimes all you need are a couple small additions.

Bottom Line: Don’t get too carried away when trying to make an outfit look complete.

Tip: Scarves are great finishing touches to an outfit. Check out my Winter Scarves post for examples and ideas.

About sarahlily4ever

I'm a singer, actress, model, and fashionista. I have traveled a lot and enjoy creating couture with the Art Institute of Chicago. I'm inspired by Coco Chanel, Vince Camuto, and Rachel Zoe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

